Fire Safety Educator of the Year

2020 Winner

Robert Brewer

Lincoln Volunteer Fire Department


View Application


In the five years that Robert Brewer has been a member of the Lincoln Volunteer Fire Department, he has grown the Life Safety Program immensely. Under his leadership, life safety is no longer a program only during Fire Prevention Week. Hardly a month goes by without Brewer, aka “Firefighter Bob,” arranging an event to promote life safety to the community. Lincoln VFD’s fire prevention program provides education to various members of the community no matter what age. Brewer’s ability to reach out, engage and capture the attention of this diverse age group is one of the cornerstones of success.

For over 10 years, Brewer has worked closely with Wayne Central School District administrators to organize and promote work surrounding fire prevention and life safety education to students. Each year during Fire Prevention Week, Brewer plans several activities to engage and educate students about the importance of fire prevention and safety. Brewer was also instrumental in developing the Fire Prevention Week Ride to School in a Fire Truck program, which awards a ride to school in a fire truck to the winner of the annual fire prevention essay contest.

Brewer developed a “Hydrant Helpers Program,” which encourages students to (with adult supervision) clear the snow from around a nearby fire hydrant. In the fire district, it is not uncommon for fire hydrants to be buried under more than a foot of snow which can create delays getting water to a fire. With the Hydrant Helpers Program, nearly 100 fire hydrants are cleared of snow each winter.

The Lincoln VFD hosts what Brewer calls the “Annual Day of Fun and Safety,” which brings the special needs class from the local school district to the firehouse for presentations, a building tour and hands-on demonstrations. Now in its fifth year, the class is being opened to other school districts in Wayne County.

Brewer also regularly visits the daycare centers and senior citizen complexes in the towns of Ontario and Walworth to spread his fire safety message, as well as give presentations and demonstrations to scouting groups and at public events throughout the town. He is Committee Chair for the Lincoln VFD annual open house and also serves as the department’s Social Media Coordinator. Brewer received the Lincoln VFD Firefighter of the Year Award for 2017 and was recognized with a Proclamation from the New York State Senate for his continuing efforts in preaching fire and life safety throughout the community.

The professionalism, dedication, care and compassion Brewer displays daily are traits that distinguish both himself and the Lincoln VFD as a whole.

Adapted from nominations by Lincoln VFD Chief Mike Bodak, Lincoln VFD President Mike Frederes and Dr. Joseph Siracuse of the Wayne Central School District

2020 Award Sponsored by:

Law Offices of Mark C. Butler, PLLC

Past Award Recipients

2005Glenn SicklesScottsville Fire Department
2006Jeffrey S. BurkhartOriskany Independent Fire and Hose Company
2007Donald P. DalrympleValois, Logan & Hector Fire Company, Inc
2008David BowenVischer Ferry Volunteer Fire Company
2009Brian NiggliPenfield Fire Company
2010Kenneth Clair Jr.Brewster Fire Department
2011Chief Richard D. TarelloSouth Farmingdale Fire Department
2012William C. “Billy” SchroederLancaster Fire Department
2013Harry ProdromidesLindenhurst Fire Department
2014Aaron CookJohnsonville Volunteer Fire Co.
2015Jennifer CorteseWhitesboro Fire Department
2016William J. WrenNew Hartford Fire Department
2017Danny DunnEnterprise Hose Co. No. 1
2018Robert SuttonCentral Islip Fire Department
2019Dean SmithBarnard Fire Department