Leadership

FASNY Leadership

Kenneth Pienkowski
President kpienkowski@fasny.com

See Bio

Kenneth Pienkowski

With more than 50 years of firefighting experience under his belt at various ranks, Kenneth Pienkowski plans to promote a platform of leadership, training, health and safety, and fire ground awareness as president of FASNY. As FASNY’s highest ranking official, he is responsible for setting forth an operational and legislative agenda on behalf of the state’s 110,000 volunteer firefighters.

Mr. Pienkowski joined the Taunton Volunteer Fire Department in 1967 and worked his way up through the ranks, eventually serving as fire chief in 1977. He served as president of the Onondaga County Volunteer Firemen’s Association, Onondaga County Fire Chiefs Association and the New York State Association of Fire Chiefs. With FASNY, he has served on the Membership and Fire Chiefs committees before being elected to the Board of Directors in 2006. He also served as vice president to the FASNY Real Estate Holding Co. He also serves as a director on the FASNY Foundation Board. Mr. Pienkowski is currently chairman of the FASNY Insurance Committee and Convention and Exhibits Committee.

He is an alumnus of the National Fire Academy in Emmitsburg, Maryland; past president of the New York State Association of Fire Chiefs (2002-2003); and past director and key committee member of the Eastern Division of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (2003-2007).

Mr. Pienkowski is a retired member of the United Auto Workers Union. Since retirement, he has been an insurance professional while continuing his involvement in community affairs. In his private life, he has been happily married to his wife, Barbara, since 1979. They have two children, James and Jennifer; and two grandchildren, Griffin and Cooper.

Steven E. Klein
First Vice President sklein@fasny.com

See Bio

Steven E. Klein

Steven E. Klein joined the Oceanside Fire Department in 1965 and quickly became active in all aspects of the organization, serving on many committees. Mr. Klein held many offices in his company, Terrace Hose & Chemical Co. No. 3 and with the Oceanside Fire Department, where he served as chief in 1984.

He continued to serve on the county level and is a past president of the Fire Chiefs’ Council of Nassau County and the Nassau County Firemen’s Association. He has served on the Nassau County Fire Commission and is a past chairman of the Second Battalion Fire District.

Mr. Klein joined FASNY in the late 1960s and was appointed to the Fire Prevention (now the Fire Prevention and Life Safety) Committee. In 2002, he was elected to the FASNY Firemen’s Home Board of Trustees and was re-elected in 2007, serving until 2012. During his term on the Board, Mr. Klein served as secretary for seven years.

Mr. Klein has been a director of the FASNY Foundation since 2003 and has served as president of that board.

Mr. Klein, retired from the USPS, is a father of two and a grandfather of three. His son Kevin currently serves as an assistant chief in the Oceanside Fire Department. Mr. Klein is a graduate of Oceanside Senior High School and SUNY Farmingdale.

John P. Farrell, Jr.
Second Vice President jfarrell@fasny.com

See Bio

John P. Farrell, Jr.

John P. Farrell, Jr. of Athens, Greene County, previously served as a trustee of the FASNY Firemen’s Home from 2001 to 2014, including a stint as president of the Board.

Mr. Farrell has dedicated much of his life to the volunteer fire service in New York State. In 1971, he joined the Catskill Fire Department, eventually rising to become captain of its Citizen Hose Rescue Squad No. 5. In 1977, Mr. Farrell joined the nearby West Athens/Lime Street Fire Co., also rising through its line officer ranks to become chief from 1987 to 1991. He also served in the department’s civil officer ranks as its president and treasurer. He is currently a commissioner of the West Athens/Lime Street Fire District, a position he has held since 1993.

Mr. Farrell’s service has not been limited to his local fire departments. He has served as president of three fire-related organizations: the Greene County Firemen’s Association, the Greene County Fire Chiefs Association and the 16-county Hudson Valley Volunteer Firemen’s Association, for which he is current Steering Committee chairman. Mr. Farrell is also a member of the New York State Fire Coordinators’ Association and currently sits on the Revolving Loan Committee.

Mr. Farrell has served as the director of emergency services for Greene County since 2002. He and his wife, Marilyn, have been married for 41 years. Mrs. Farrell is an active member of the Ladies Auxiliary of FASNY, and has previously served as president of LAFASNY. Mr. and Mrs. Farrell are parents to four sons and one daughter, and have nine grandchildren.

FASNY Appointed Officers

John S. D’Alessandro
Secretary jdalessandro@fasny.com

County
Saratoga

David A. Quinn
Chief Administrative Officer dquinn@fasny.com

County
Columbia

Thomas L. Krawczyk
Treasurer tkrawczyk@fasny.com

County
Erie

Rev. Wayne F. Jagow
Chaplain wjagow@fasny.com

County
Niagara

Donald J. Farrell
Sergeant-at-Arms dfarrell@fasny.com

County
Westchester

Thomas With
Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms twith@fasny.com

County
Albany

FASNY Staff

Patricia Phesay
Director of Finance pphasey@fasny.com

County
Albany

Colleen M. Simo
Director of Human Resources csimo@fasny.com

County
Albany

Gina Salvato Shultis
Director of Development gshultis@fasny.com

County
Albany

April Rounds
Project/Event Coordinator arounds@fasny.com

County
Albany

Jay Wilson
Training, Education and Convention Administrator jwilson@fasny.com

County
Albany

Marti VanDeBogart
Receptionist mvandebogart@fasny.com

County
Albany

FASNY Board of Directors

Kenneth Pienkowski
President kpienkowski@fasny.com

County
Onondaga

Steven E. Klein
First Vice President sklein@fasny.com

County
Nassau

John P. Farrell, Jr.
Second Vice President jfarrell@fasny.com

County
Greene

Robert N. McConville
Immediate Past President rmcconville@fasny.com

County
Suffolk

Michael R. Caron
Member mcaron@fasny.com

County
Onondaga

Jose DaRocha
Member jdarocha@fasny.com

County
Nassau

Laurie M. Hance
Member lhance@fasny.com

County
St. Lawrence

Eugene J. Perry Jr.
Member eperry@fasny.com

County
Suffolk

Diana G. Pfersick
Member dpfersick@fasny.com

County
Monroe

Santo S. “Chan” Rivera
Member crivera@fasny.com

County
Ulster

Edward Tase, Jr.
Member etase@fasny.com

County
Niagara

Michael K. Krummenacker
mkkfm105@aol.com

County
Nassau

FASNY Firemen's Home Trustees

David F. Schmidt
President dschmidt@fasny.com

County
Niagara

Wayne Butts
Vice President wbutts@fasny.com

County
Allegany

David J. Blair
Member dblair@fasny.com

County
Onondaga

Peter U. Cincotta
Member pcincotta@fasny.com

County
Suffolk

Michael J. De Vittorio
Member mdevittorio@fasny.com

County
Westchester

Walter William Eck, Jr.
Member weck@fasny.com

County
Albany

Dennis E. Eickhoff
Member deickhoff@fasny.com

County
St. Lawrence

Walter A. Geidel
Member wgeidel@fasny.com

County
Delaware

Stephen Goodman
Member sgoodman@fasny.com

County
Nassau

Frederick J. Griffiths
Member fgriffiths@fasny.com

County
Oneida

James A. Interdonati
Member jinterdonati@fasny.com

County
Nassau

Gerard Owenburg
Member gowenburg@fasny.com

County
Suffolk

Kenneth Pienkowski
Member kpienkowski@fasny.com

County
Onondaga

Marilyn L. Schrader
Member mschrader@fasny.com

County
Greene

Alan C. Way
Member away@fasny.com

County
Monroe

David J. Wolf
Member dwolf@fasny.com

County
Livingston